The 2022 Honorees

Senator Jill P. Carter headshot

Maryland Senator Jill P. Carter

Bainum Family Foundation logo with two cute Black babies

The Bainum Family Foundation

Jo Shifrin headshot

Jo Shifrin

Thank you to everyone who joined us for the 2021 Heschel Vision Awards

JUFJ’s Heschel Vision Awards celebrate members of our community who take action with deep moral commitment and who inspire and empower others. It’s a chance for all of us to be reminded of our values and to be together in community.

This year’s event took place on Sunday, November 7 with an online celebration showcasing inspiring honorees and the accomplishments of the JUFJ community. Thank you to everyone who joined us and made an incredible event possible!

Thank you to our 2021 Sponsors

Sponsors make our work possible, now and all year long, and we are honored to have support from individuals, families, congregations, and organizations.

Sponsorships are available at a wide variety of levels. The full list of sponsorship levels are included on the Heschel registration form.

About the Heschel Awards

JUFJ was founded by a small group of longtime activists and younger community organizers who were inspired to action after attending a class on the teachings of Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel. He saw the teachings of the Prophets as a call for social action in our time, and was a prominent leader in the civil rights and antiwar movements of the 1960s.

Many of the hallmarks of JUFJ’s work—commitment to multicultural and interfaith coalitions, and concern for the most vulnerable in our society—are founded on Heschel’s teachings and the movements he helped lead.

For many of us the march from Selma to
Montgomery was both protest and prayer…
Even without words, our march was worship.
I felt my legs were praying.

— Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel, 1965

Previous Heschel Honorees

Abigail, Emma, and Zoe Levine
Adat Shalom Reconstructionist Congregation
Ana María Archila
Rabbi Arthur Waskow
Barbara Kraft
Ben & Beth Wikler
Betsy Krieger & Karen Kreisberg
Rabbi Bob Saks
Bruce and Susie Turnbull
Claire Landers
David (z”l) & Carla (z”l) Cohen
David Fishback
David Krakow
Rabbi David Shneyer
The DC Initiative on Racial Equity and its Coordinating Committee, accepted by co-facilitators Alicia Wilson and Dushaw Hockett
Eli & Kavitha Kasargod-Staub
Elissa Froman (z”l)

Councilmember Elissa Silverman
The England Family Foundation
George Derek Musgrove
Gustavo Torres
Heather Booth
Ilyse Hogue
Isabel “Liz” Dunst
Representative Jamie Raskin
Jerry Levine & Sarah Pokempner
Jessica Champagne & Max Toth
Joanna Blotner
Joanna Silver
Joelle Novey
Jonathan Stern (z”l) & Karen Paul
Joslyn Williams
Attorney General Karl A. Racine
Kesh Ladduwahetty
Margie Klein

Governor Martin O’Malley
Mary Ann Stein
Nicole Berner
Nikki Cole
Roberta “Bert” Ritvo
Roxie Herbekian & Ken Zinn
Rubie Coles
Ruth Messinger
Ruti Kadish
Sam Rosen Jewler
Shelley Moskowitz
Simon Greer
Tara Huffman
Tikkun Olam Women’s Foundation
Toni Holness
UFCW Local 400’s Political & Community Affairs Team, represented by Dyana Forester and Kim Mitchell